Search and verify licenses
Sample Arkansas Tattoo License

Arkansas Tattoo License

Body art has become very popular in recent years. And as the demand grows every single day then the states try to keep control over this new field. Each state has its own regulations. Some prohibit minors from obtaining tattoos, some others have only limited permits.

To perform as an expert in the USA you have to gain a license by fulfilling some mandatory points. So, in this article, we are going to reveal Arkansas tattoo license requirements.

Arkansas Tattoo License Requirements

To start your career as a tattooist you should have a Body Art certificate. There are a few rules to follow. So, here are the basic steps:

Step 1

The first stage contains professional training with an experienced specialist. The course lasts from 6 to 24 months.

You should note that the expert artists must be certified by the Department of Health. Besides, they must have been employed in a corresponding establishment for 5 years. The Department regulates also these places. Furthermore, the trainers have to complete blood-borne pathogens programs.

Step 2

After that, the future specialists have to complete a minimum of 375 hours per 6 months operating in this field. But the trainers supervise the whole process and maintain the hour log during which the student works. They receive the log forms during a written exam. If there is a need for additional classes then they last 250 hrs and are not less than 6 mths.

Step 3

But before submitting for the written examination each student has to accomplish a 2 hrs blood-borne pathogens course. There are certain providers that can help you in this case. Here they are:

  • American Red Cross
  • APT
  • SPC
  • National Safety Council, etc.

You may meet this step also in Colorado.

Step 4

The final stage includes written and practical examinations. What refers to a fixed cost, then it is $50. You should pay for it before the exam. You can apply for the test once a month. The trainers have to make your test appointment. Besides, you are obliged to present two passport-size images.

After the successful results, the Board of Private Career Education approves the participant as an expert to start his/her career in this field. The annual fee for the tattoo licensure is $100.

Arkansas Tattoo License Renewal

According to the law, the artist should renew the licensure annually. And the must-have documents include:

  • Documents guaranteeing the OSHA bloodborne pathogens programs
  • Submitted renewal application containing the place of employment
  • $100 renewal fee

It is important to mention, that no studio can proceed with expired licensure. It is considered a Class D felony.

The Department of Health sends the certificate directly to the shop where you will work. Therefore, after leaving the establishment, you should return it to the office.

Reciprocity of Out of State Tattooists

If you are not a resident of AR then you need to apply for the reciprocity. There are certain things you need to know while doing this.

So, first of all, you must present a proper form and return it with the required documentation to the Body Art Section. In addition, you should pay a $500 non-refundable fee.

Secondly, it is essential to show proof of your licensure you have used within 2 calendar years.

Thirdly, you must provide blood-borne pathogen course copy and training (at least six months) documentation.

After the approval of your application, you will be required to pass a test. Furthermore, you have to reach at least a passing score.

Body Art Permits in Arkansas

So, both the tattooists and shops are obliged to have operation permission. It is illegal to proceed without a certificate. All the used equipment and tools have to correspond to the set standards. That is to be packaged, 100% sterilized, and disposable.

If you are going to operate with mobile units then you should consider all the rules and regulations. It is crucial to solve the storage problem of liquid waste and keep all the sanitary conditions.

Anahit V

Anahit has three main professions: Arabist, Content writer, SMM specialist. She has graduated from the Faculty of Oriental studies, Department of Arabic studies. She has also graduated from Kuwait State University, a one-year course- “Arabic for Foreigners”. She speaks four languages and the desire of self-development, writing skills, working with foreign languages and using her whole potential brought her to the huge world of Digital Marketing. She gained a new profession as an SMM specialist and Content writer. During a short time, she has written some articles for LicenseSearch.org, and several other websites, and guest posts also. She knows that the reader may appreciate simple and available information about a certain topic that he/she looks for. So, she writes only Google-friendly articles that have a good readability rank. Anahit uses some important tools that can help to optimize the content.