A prospective plumber, like any other types of trade professionals and general contractors in Arkansas, must submit an application to the state and pass an exam in order to obtain an Arkansas plumbing license. Every year, licenses must be renewed.
To verify an online plumbing license in Arkansas you can conduct an Arkansas plumbing license search at the top of the website. Let’s find out what you need to do to get a plumber license in Arkansas.
To become a master plumber in the state of Arkansas, you must meet the following requirements:
Getting a plumber’s license requires an exam and field experience to become licensed and appear on an Arkansas HVAC license search. Only after paying the $125 exam fee, which must be included in the application, you can take the Plumbing Master Exam.
The exam consists of 100 questions that must be completed in three hours. You’ll need to get a score of at least 70% to pass the exam.
Plumbing contractors working on projects over $20,000 must also take and pass a 50-question business and law examination: it will take two hours to complete. To be considered licensed, they must score at least 70% on the test.
To pass the exam, an applicant must read and understand the plumbing code book thoroughly.
An apprentice plumber is a person who is enrolled in a state-approved apprentice program and is learning and assisting in the construction of plumbing and drainage.
Each plumber in Arkansas must first work as an apprentice to receive both journeyman or master plumber licenses.
To register with the state of Arkansas as an apprentice plumber, a prospective plumber must submit an application and be accepted into a state-approved apprenticeship program.
The following are the costs of different license types in Arkansas:
Northwest Arkansas Community College
Location: 1 College Dr, Bentonville, AR 72712
Contact Info: (479) 636-9222
Tuition: $4,633 (In-state tuition)
Phillips Community College
Location: 1000 Campus Rd, Helena, AR 72342
Contact Info: (870) 338-6474
Tuition: $3,110 (In-state tuition)
Pulaski Technical College
Location: 3000 W Scenic Dr, North Little Rock, AR 72118
Contact Info: (501) 812-2200
Tuition: $5,011 (In-state tuition)
Ultimate Technical Academy
Location: 1611, 6108 Getty Dr, North Little Rock, AR 72117
Contact Info: (501) 835-8200
Tuition: $1,199.00 per course
Plumbing training at a trade school usually takes about two years. Apprenticeships, on the other hand, will last anywhere from two to five years, depending on the program. A trade school offers you more versatility about where you work after you complete your training, as well as more control over your education.