Search and verify licenses

Arkansas Dental License

You must be certified by the Arkansas State Board of Dental Examiners to practice dental hygiene in Arkansas, which includes patient screenings, taking and developing dental radiographs, removing calculus and plaque, and advising patients about proper diet and its role in good oral health. So, let’s find out what you need to obtain a dental hygienist license in Arkansas.

How do I get a dental hygienist license in Arkansas?

You must complete the following steps in order to become a licensed dental hygienist in Arkansas:

  • Obtain a certificate or diploma in dental hygiene from an accredited program
  • Successfully pass the National Board Examination for Dental Hygiene

The NBDH contains two parts, each with 350 questions. The first section contains questions about the scientific basis for dental hygiene practice, community health and clinical hygiene service provision, while the second section contains case-based scenarios for 12 to 15 dental hygiene patient cases. The NBDH exam can be taken at a Pearson VUE testing center near you.

Complete the Arkansas Clinical Dental Hygiene and Jurisprudence Exam

After passing the National Board examination (SRTA) you must take and pass the Arkansas clinical dental hygiene examination, which is administered by the Southern Regional Testing Agency.

Arkansas is one of nine states in the United States that uses the SRTA test for dental hygienist state licensure. The SRTA is a clinical judgment and performance assessment tool.

A score of 75 is needed to pass. Failure necessitates a re-examination.

You can register for the SRTA here, and a list of exam dates and locations can be found here.

Examination of Jurisprudence

To become a licensed dental hygienist in Arkansas, you must pass the Arkansas Jurisprudence Test, an open-book exam that covers the Board’s Dental Practice Act as well as the Board’s Rules and Regulations.

Apply for Licensure as a Dental Hygienist in Arkansas

To apply for dental hygienist licensure with the Arkansas State Board of Dental Examiners, fill out the Application for License to Practice Dental Hygiene and fill out the following details (the application is intended to be filled out electronically):

  • Include a $100 fee (check or money order made payable to the Board of Dental Examiners)
  • In the presence of a notary public, sign the last page
  • Include a recent photograph (within the last 6 months)
  • Request that your institution gives an official transcript from your dental hygiene school to the Board
  • Make a copy of your diploma, which proves that you have a dental hygiene degree, and provide it with your application
  • Request that your National Board card be sent to the Board by JCNDE (JCNDE: 1-800-232-1694)
  • Request that your clinical review score is submitted directly to the Board by STRA
  • Don’t forget to include a copy of your CPR certification

All applicants for a license must agree to a full criminal background check by the Arkansas State Board of Dental Examiners. When the Board receives your license application, they will give you details about the background check.

You can only appear on the Arkansas dental hygienist license lookup after you are licensed. Our dental hygienist license search tool offers the simplest way to check if someone is licensed.

Arkansas dental hygienist license renewal  

In Arkansas, dental hygienist licenses are renewed on January 1 of each even-numbered year.
The renewal fee is $100. On the website of the State Board of Dental Examiners, you may renew your license online.

Information on continuing education can be found at the Arkansas State Dental Hygienists Association.

If necessary, apply for a local anesthesia permit

You’ll need to fill out an Application for a Local Anesthesia Permit if you want to administer local anesthesia. You must submit the following documents with your completed application:

  • Proof of successful completion of an anesthesia course held or sponsored by an ADA-accredited dental hygiene school (may include a copy of certificate completion, the transcript from the school, or an original letter from the school)
  • A copy of a valid certificate of basic life support from a health care provider
  • A $25 application fee is required.

Lily K

Lily has six years of expertise as an SEO content writer. She has authored numerous articles for a variety of websites and businesses on various topics. She can help with ghostwriting, blog writing, guest posting, tech writing, etc. Lily writes SEO content for companies looking to improve their Google search rankings. She regularly writes articles about business licenses, digital marketing, cybersecurity, fashion, psychology, etc. Lily has established a unique writing style throughout the years of content writing for a variety of websites. She has also worked as an SEO specialist. Lily has achieved very high rankings for the websites with which she has collaborated. In her works, she employs a combination of various SEO and content tools, as she understands that well-optimized content is the KING.

US License Lookup by State

US
License
Lookup
by
State