Search and verify licenses
Sample Arkansas Barber License

Arkansas Barber License

Now is a promising time to get an Arkansas barber license. The state has adopted a number of rules and norms for that. They pertain to accepted standards and qualifications.

This guide refers to the aforementioned points. It provides relevant info about the procedure.

Attend Specialty Courses

If you are making your very first steps in the industry, here is what to do. In the first place, you should complete training. The program must consist of a minimum of 1500 hours. It is specifically designed to give you the skills you need. Most of them concentrate on the following topics.

  • Hygiene
  • Good grooming
  • Bacteriology and sterilization
  • Sanitation
  • Skin and treatments
  • Chemistry
  • Anatomy and physiology (in some cases)
  • Laws

There is also a crossover program. It is for cosmetologists, who want to major in hairdressing. It allows working and learning at the same time. But it has to be under the supervision of a certified person.

No matter the curriculum, choose an accredited and approved one. They correspond to admissible standards.

Apply for the Permit

When you graduate from the coursework, contact the State Board of Barber Examiners. It was established in 1937 for public health and welfare. Thereby, request an application form. Once the Board provides it, fill in the paper. Then, sign and send it.

Failure to submit a letter along with a set fee will disqualify you for the exams.

Required Paperwork

  • Two photos (passport-type, with your signature on them)
  • Transcript of education
  • Valid identification

Examinations

The final stage has arrived. You must take the practical exam. Just demonstrate what you have learned during your studies. Practice on a mannequin or a model. In addition, have your own supplies for you. For example, bring your iron, combs, scissors, and other tools.

There are oral and written tests, as well. They assess your knowledge of taught subjects. Answer the questions attentively and precisely. If you get most of them right, you will pass.

Congratulations! You can work in hair salons henceforth.

Steps to Renew the Certification

The permit expires on odd-numbered years. Try to renew it before your birthday. You may use the online portal. Go to the page and select the necessary type. Enter your Social Security Number and end the process. The fee is $40.
CE courses are not demanded.

License Reciprocity

Anyone may transfer an unrevoked or unexpired certificate to Arkansas. The requirement is sending a reciprocity application. Attaching helping documents is another key point. The price is $150.

So, if you are, for example, from Alabama, you can easily move here. The only precondition is complying with the above-mentioned goals.

How to Verify a Hairdresser?

Verifying someone’s credentials is quite easy nowadays. All you have to do is use a search mechanism. It delivers relevant information in a few seconds. The tool is free.

Contact Information

900 W. Capitol, Suite 400
Little Rock, AR 72201
(501) 682-4035

Seda S

Seda has four years of professional experience as a multilingual content writer. She employs SEO principles and rules to come up with original and SEO-friendly articles. Seda also has editing, proofreading, researching, and translating skills, which help to produce better content. She has written a number of articles for a wide range of websites that look for unique and genuine content. She has written targeted content for consumer portions, and she is specialized in writing guest posts, digital marketing, wellness, beauty, and other articles. Furthermore, she has prepared guides and helping materials for websites, which help people seeking licensure in all areas. Seda has also used brand new writing techniques and style based on the article while contributing to readability, accuracy, and tonality.

US License Lookup by State

US
License
Lookup
by
State